Register of Deeds

The Register has specific directions on how to index, record and maintain the records. This includes the following functions:

  • require specific information on instruments registered in the office;
  • perform the assigned tasks in a diligent manner;
  • carefully place the time of receipt of instruments into the notebook
  • record the instruments into the correct book
  • index the instrument properly;
  • keep accurate records of the fees, commissions and taxes collected;
  • keep accurate office expense records;
  • made reports on the fees, commissions, and expenses to the county;
  • make reports on the taxes collected to the revenue department

Basic Recording Fees

Deed/Deed of Trust/Mortgage………..$12.00 up to and including two pages
Amendment/Modification……………..$12.00 up to and including two pages
Assignment/Release……………………..$12.00 up to and including two pages

Additional Recording Fees

Additional pages or attachments…….$ 5.00 per additional page
Multiple assignments or releases…….$ 5.00 per reference after first

Note: Limit blanket assignments and releases to 25 per instrument

Transfer/Financing Fees/Taxes

Deed transfer tax………………………..$ 0.37 per $100
Mortgage tax……………………………..$ 0.115 per $100

The first $2,000.00 of indebtedness is exempt from mortgage tax. Add $1.00 probate fee to total taxes paid.

Real Estate Certification

Certification fee…………………………$ 1.00 per page
Certification fee maps…………………$ 5.00

Military Discharge Records

Recorded Unicoi County military discharge records are now sequestered for 75 years, according to Register of Deeds Debbie Tittle. The recently enacted TCA 10-7-513 completely revised the law on military discharge records and who can access those records in registers’ offices across the State of Tennessee.

FAQ

Q. How do I add or put someone else's name on my deed?
A. A copy of your deed or your original deed must be taken to an attorney's office so that the attorney can see the description of the property and the name the original deed is in. The attorney will then prepare a new document and then the new document is brought to the Register's Office for recording.

Q. After I pay off my mortgage (deed of trust) will you send me my original deed?
A. We do not keep original documents in our office except for federal and state liens. The original deed is given back to the customer after the document is recorded. The only thing kept in our office is a copy.

Q. Can I register my will?
A. No, a will is only registered after a person is deceased and when the will is probated in Chancery court and pertains to real estate.

Q. How do I get a copy of a deed?
A. You may call or come by our office with the name of the current owner of the property. If you do not know the current owner then if you know the address or can locate the property on a map then start with the assessor's office. They can tell you the name of owner. Then come to the register office for assistance. We will be happy to mail, fax or give you a copy in person.

Q. Can I see what a previous owner gave for some property?
A. Everything is the register's office is public record. This is a constitutional law.

Q. Does this deed transfer have to be published in the local newspaper?
A. Everything is the register's office is public record. This is a constitutional law.

 
Copyright © 2014. Unicoi County, Tennessee. Designed by Liberty Webs